go on, give yourself a pat on the back!

When was the last time you gave yourself a pat on the back. For something good you did. For an achievement. For making someone feel good about themselves. For helping someone else out. For the good deeds you just did. For the effort you’ve put in. When was that last time?

In my recent conversation with my brother, I told him that I was embarking on a new path and taking up a new study in design. He asked me this question…’why did you decide on that?’ It took me by surprise. I didn’t quite know what to say! Yes I did have to answer that question when speaking to the course coordinator as I submitted my application. But that somehow seemed much easier. I stopped to think. I then said..’because I am good at it. I want to formalise my love for design’, and then went on to say..’I am not bragging, but I do think I have an eye for it’. He said..’GOOD! It is good to hear someone say something good of themselves. It is good to say that you are good at something. That is not bragging!’

That statement made me think. You see my brother is a man of words. He is slightly younger, but nonetheless, a wise one. He has an open mind, a very entrepreneurial one. Hence, I took those words and as I usually do, dissected every bit of it to pieces! And I mean I shredded it to pieces! And what he said was so true! We often don’t speak enough of the good things we are good at. Yes we often seek legitimacy. We want to be recognised. We want to feel deserving of our accomplishments. However, many a times, when we finally get there, we water down these efforts. We often feel like perhaps it is not something we deserved. Why is that?

woman-690118_1280

I think it is time we had a long hard think of this. I have not really given this a thought. I have done many a things in my adult life, with lots of time invested in studying medicine, working as a doctor, studying a masters, then venturing into a speciality of medicine. And now I want to add to my list of skills. So I am going back to studying, But that is me, and at this point in my life, taking a slight turn in what I do, excites me. It is one that I have given a long think about, and it is time to take the plunge.

So for all that, I am giving myself a pat on the back! Come on, and join me. If you feel unsure of this, I suggest you write a list of the things you have achieved, done, done for others, sacrifices made for others, and I am absolutely certain you will see what I mean. And it is not a bout bragging or an exercise to make one feel bigger and better than others, but one to make you see, that you are what you are, for all the hard work you’ve put in. Your success is yours to keep, and a very well deserved one.

You really deserve a pat on the back!

If you would like to share your thoughts on this, I would love to know. Do you stop along the way often enough to give credit to yourself?

See you around! xo

monica

Leave a comment